Sunday Morning Book Study - Spring 2020

Beginning in the season of Lent, you are invited to study and discuss the book Dear Church with other UIF members. We will be studying Dear Church: A Love Letter from a Black Preacher to the Whitest Denomination in the U.S. by Lenny Duncan, the self-proclaimed “unlikeliest of pastors.”

 

This book challenges us to listen to a voice that may not be familiar or comfortable or easy, but that will help us learn and grow. Part manifesto, part confession, and all love letter, Dear Church offers a bold new vision for the church to take on forces of this world that act against God: whiteness, misogyny, nationalism, homophobia, and economic injustice. Duncan urges us to reevaluate our cynicism about the church and to follow in the revolutionary path of Jesus.

On Sunday mornings at 9:40am (between services), we’ll gather to discuss one section at a time. If you cannot attend on Sunday morning, you are still encouraged to read the book. The entire book is only 168 pages, but each chapter is chock full of discussion topics and (hopefully) new insights.

 

If you need us to purchase a book for you, please let Pastor Carla or Jeanne (office) know. (The book should cost under $15.)

 

Dear Church – book discussion group between services

Sunday, March 1 – read intro & chapter 1 before meeting

Sunday, March 8 – read chapter 2 before meeting

Sunday, March 15 – read chapter 3 before meeting

Sunday, March 22 – read chapter 4 before meeting

(break)          

Sunday, April 19 – read chapter 5 before meeting

Sunday, April 26 – read chapter 6 before meeting

Sunday, May 3 – read chapter 7 before meeting

Sunday, May 10 – read chapter 8 before meeting

Sunday, May 17 – read chapter 9 & 10 before meeting

Sunday, May 24 – read chapter 11 before meeting

  • Facebook
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram